Last month, we announced the launch of CAPA21, a progressive AAPI political action committee.

Our first goal was to raise $50,000. Donations raised up to that amount would be matched dollar-for-dollar by our Chair, Glen S. Fukushima. We met that goal in a few weeks, and we set a new and difficult goal of $100,000. Glen has not only already matched the first $50,000 we raised, but he will match all donations that help us reach the $100,000 goal! We want to thank the following contributors who were among the donors helping us reach our first goal:

Because of the support of these founding contributors to CAPA21, we were able to donate to: Rep. Ami Bera, Rep. Tammy Duckworth, Rep. Mark Takano, Rep. Mike Honda, Controller candidate Betty Yee, Assemblymember Rob Bonta, Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi, Assembly candidate David Chiu, and Assembly candidate Evan Low.

Donate to CAPA21 today and support our efforts to:

  1. Develop more resources to invest in AAPI field operations, an area where parties and campaigns always seem to be under-resourced;
  2. More strategically finance progressive candidates, with special attention to national candidates who have a proven track record advancing AAPI interests, and candidates from South Asian, Filipino, Korean, Vietnamese, and other under-represented communities;
  3. Share candidate information with ethnic media to help educate the fast-growing new immigrant voter populations; and
  4. Develop more effective uses of social media to reach AAPIs and explore emerging technologies for donor outreach.

CAPA21 is already looking ahead to 2016. Join us today and let’s get a head start on ensuring that our voices and our votes play a significant role in the presidential election cycle.

Glen S. Fukushima, Chairman
DaleMinami, President

We want to thank the Co-Chairs of our PAC’s Leadership Council for their continued guidance and support!
  • Ginger Lew, CEO of Three Oaks Investments LLC, former Senior Counselor to the White House National Economic Council
  • Maeley Tom, CEO of Tom & Associates, and former Chief Administrative Officer, California State Assembly
  • Helen Zia, journalist, author, and activist; former Executive Editor of Ms. Magazine
  • Tessie Guillermo, CEO of ZeroDivide*, former member of President Clinton’s Advisory Commission on AAPIs
  • Dilawar Syed, President, Freshdesk*; former member of President Obama’s Advisory Commission on AAPIs
  • Steve Ngo (honorary), Senior Counsel at Lozano Smith, Trustee on San Francisco Community College District Board*
  • Kiran Jain, Senior Deputy Attorney, City of Oakland*; former staff member, National Commission on Voting Right

* Titles are for identification purposes only.