CAPA21 Chair Glen S. Fukushima announced last week that we reached our goal of $250,000 and we’re making our first round of donations:

  • $2,500 to Gina Ortiz Jones, Texas 23rd Congressional District
  • $2,500 to Rep. Andy Kim, New Jersey 3rd Congressional District
  • $2,500 to Rep. TJ Cox, California 21st Congressional District
  • $2,500 to Rep. Josh Harder, California 10th Congressional District

These donations are just our first set of donations. We’ll be announcing additional contributions in January.

Gina Ortiz Jones

Filipina American and Iraq War veteran Gina Ortiz Jones is a Democrat running in the 23rd Congressional District of Texas. Incumbent Republican Rep. Will Hurd is not running for re-election. We endorsed Gina in 2018 and she came within just 926 votes of defeating Rep. Hurd in 2018.
Join us in sending Gina to Congress!

Andy Kim

Congressman Andy Kim is a Korean American Democrat running for re-election in New Jersey’s 3rd Congressional District. CAPA21 endorsed Rep. Kim in 2018 and he was part of the Blue Wave that returned Democratic control of the U.S. House. He won the district by a thin margin and is considered one of the New Jersey delegation’s more vulnerable incumbents.
With your donation we can help keep Andy in Congress!

TJ Cox

Congressman TJ Cox is a Chinese/Filipino American Democrat running for re-election in California’s 21st Congressional District. CAPA21 endorsed Rep. Cox in 2018 and he was part of the Blue Wave that returned Democratic control of the U.S. House. He won the district by a thin margin, Trump is targeting this race, and the Republican he unseated is running against TJ in 2020.
We can help keep TJ in Congress with your support!

Josh Harder

Congressman Josh Harder is running for re-election in California’s 10th Congressional District, with a nearly eight percent Asian American electorate. CAPA21 endorsed Rep. Harder in 2018 and he was part of the Blue Wave that returned Democratic control of the U.S. House. The GOP candidate for Calif. governor in 2018 won this district so we cannot take this race for granted.
Donate and help us keep Josh in Congress!

These first four donations are part of CAPA21’s multi-pronged approach in 2020.

We will focus our donations on:

  1. The Democratic nominee for President;
  2. Independent Expenditures opposing Trump;
  3. Competitive Democratic candidates in swing Senate and House races; and
  4. Voter registration and get-out-the-vote activities focused on AAPIs.

Despite being impeached, Trump is far from being removed from office. We must make every effort to ensure that he is not re-elected and that Democrats keep control of the House and win back control of the Senate. To this end, we need to turn out more AAPI voters and ensure that the voices of AAPIs are heard in the upcoming elections.

Thank you again for your valuable support, and Happy Holidays!

Glen S. Fukushima
Chair, CAPA21

Dale Minami
President, CAPA21

Special thank you to our generous donors (as of Dec. 30, 2019):

Glen S. Fukushima: $125,000
Hoyt Zia: $10,000
Clement Kong: $10,000
Joan Haratani: $10,000
Raymond L. Ocampo Jr.: $10,000
Donald K. Tamaki: $10,000
Kei-on Chan and Sonia Ng: $10,000
Mona Lisa Yuchengco: $8,000
David Louie: $5,000
Colbert Matsumoto: $5,000
Louise Ing: $5,000
Dale Minami and Ai Mori: $5,000
John Dean: $5,000
Peter Quon: $5,000
Diane Yen-Mei Wong and Nelson G. Dong
Garrin A. Wong: $2,500
Maeley Tom: $1,000
Ginger Lew: $1,000
Dianne Fukami: $1,000
Renie Yoshida Grohl: $1,000
Laura K. Hong: $1,000
Henry and Priscilla Der: $1,000
Stuart Lee and Naomi Kubota Lee: $1,000
Gayle Chan: $1,000
Michael G.W. Lee: $1,000
Lia Shigemura and Helen Zia
Christine Noma
Anu Seam
Alan Jang
Susan Kamei
Jane Chin
Lorna Ho Randlett
Raymond Buenaventura
Linda Cabatic
Shirley Nakao
Sharon Hemling & Walt Fujii
Stan Yogi
Sandra and Hans Goto
Laura Masunaga
Chad Taniguchi
Judy Koyama
Richard Komatsu and Cynthia Clearwater
Nick Nagatani
Diane Suzuki
Douglas Inouye
Emiko Omori
Garrett Hongo
Alan and Carol Nitake
Ben Fong-Torres
Lilian Tsai
Audee Kochiyama-Holman
Elaine H. Kim
Mary McNeill
Angela Mapa
James Toma
Emily Zia
Martha Nakagawa
Carolyn Ikari
Lydia and Roger Tanji
Franklin Odo
Dee Hayashi
Julie D. Soo
Click here to see the latest updates to our donor list