Following CAPA21 Chair Glen S. Fukushima’s announcement that we reached our goal of $250,000, and our first round of donations, we’re proud to announce our next round of donations to candidates for U.S. Senate.

We selected our U.S. Senate candidates through a criteria involving several factors: (1) If the state is also a swing state for the Presidential race; (2) If the race is a toss-up and the Democratic incumbent or candidate has a reasonable chance to win; and (3) If the state has an AAPI population larger than three percent.

Our aim was to overlap our support for Democratic U.S. Senate candidates in states that are also competitive in the Presidential race where AAPIs can make a difference. We made some exceptions in the Mitch McConnell, Lindsey Graham, and Susan Collins races for the reasons noted below.

In each race, we are making an initial contribution of $5,000.

  • Senator Gary Peters of Michigan (D): supporting the incumbent; overlaps with presidential swing and has identified org(s) on the ground
  • Senator Tina Smith of Minnesota (D): supporting the incumbent; overlaps with presidential swing and has identified org(s) on the ground;
  • Mark Kelly (D) in Arizona vs. Sen. Martha McSally (R): overlaps with presidential swing and has identified org(s) on the ground;
  • John Hickenlooper (D) in Colorado vs. Sen. Cory Gardner (R): overlaps with presidential swing and has identified org(s) on the ground;
  • Amy McGrath (D) in Kentucky vs. Sen. Mitch McConnell (R):  a close race representing our opposition to the Senate Majority Leader’s record of complete obstruction of the rule of law;
  • Jaime Harrison (D) in South Carolina vs. Sen. Lindsey Graham (R): an investment representing our opposition to the Senate Judiciary Chair’s role in the dangerous erosion of the judiciary by rubber-stamping extreme partisan and often unqualified nominees; and
  • Sara Gideon (D) in Maine vs. Sen. Susan Collins (R): another close race representing our opposition to the Maine Senator’s role in the Kavanaugh hearings as well as her capitulation in the Senate impeachment trial; Gideon is Asian American and the speaker of the state house.

We will be announcing our endorsements and contributions to Congressional candidates the week of March 16 and our contributions to IEs, voter engagement and voter protection efforts at the end of March.

These donations are part of CAPA21’s multi-pronged approach in 2020

We will focus our donations on:

  1. The Democratic nominee for President;
  2. Independent Expenditures opposing Trump;
  3. Competitive Democratic candidates in swing Senate and House races; and
  4. Voter registration and get-out-the-vote activities focused on AAPIs.

We must make every effort to ensure Trump is not re-elected and that Democrats keep control of the House and win back control of the Senate. To this end, we need to turn out more AAPI voters and ensure that the voices of AAPIs are heard in the upcoming elections.

Thank you again for your valuable support!

Dale Minami
President, CAPA21

Thank you to our donors!

Glen S. Fukushima: $125,000
Hoyt Zia: $10,000
Clement Kong: $10,000
Joan Haratani: $10,000
Raymond L. Ocampo Jr.: $10,000
Donald K. Tamaki: $10,000
Kei-on Chan and Sonia Ng: $10,000
Mona Lisa Yuchengco: $8,000
David Louie: $5,000
Colbert Matsumoto: $5,000
Louise Ing: $5,000
Dale Minami and Ai Mori: $5,000
John Dean: $5,000
Peter Quon: $5,000
Diane Yen-Mei Wong and Nelson G. Dong
Garrin A. Wong: $2,500
Maeley Tom: $1,000
Ginger Lew: $1,000
Dianne Fukami: $1,000
Renie Yoshida Grohl: $1,000
Laura K. Hong: $1,000
Henry and Priscilla Der: $1,000
Stuart Lee and Naomi Kubota Lee: $1,000
Gayle Chan: $1,000
Wendy Tokuda: $1,000
Lia Shigemura and Helen Zia
Christine Noma
Anu Seam
Alan Jang
Susan Kamei
Jane Chin
Lorna Ho Randlett
Raymond Buenaventura
Linda Cabatic
Shirley Nakao
Sharon Hemling & Walt Fujii
Stan Yogi
Sandra and Hans Goto
Laura Masunaga
Chad Taniguchi
Judy Koyama
Richard Komatsu and Cynthia Clearwater
Nick Nagatani
Diane Suzuki
Douglas Inouye
Emiko Omori
Garrett Hongo
Alan and Carol Nitake
Ben Fong-Torres
Lilian Tsai
Audee Kochiyama-Holman
Elaine H. Kim
Mary McNeill
Angela Mapa
James Toma
Emily Zia
Martha Nakagawa
Carolyn Ikari
Lydia Tanji
Franklin Odo
Dee Hayashi
Julie D. Soo
Sean Tamura-Sato
Click here to see the latest updates to our donor list