Tamlyn Tomita is CAPA21’s New Chair

The CAPA21 AAPI political action committee today announced Tamlyn Tomita as its new Chair, succeeding Dale Minami who will remain on our board along with Maeley Tom and Ginger Lew.

Dale and Glen S. Fukushima co-founded CAPA21 in 2014, but the PAC has a legacy going back to 1987 with the formation of a group that eventually became the Coalition of Asian Pacific Americans (CAPA), one of the first APA political action committees in the country. CAPA21 raised around $1 million dollars through the years to ensure the voices of Asian Americans were heard in the most consequential political races of our country.

Tamlyn joined the CAPA21 leadership team in October 2021. She and her husband, Daniel Blinkoff, donated more than $100,000 to support our efforts to take back the White House in 2020 and fight for control of Congress.

Tamlyn is a Japanese/Okinawan/Filipina American actor and community activist. Known for starring in “The Karate Kid Part II,” The Joy Luck Club,” “The Good Doctor,” and “Star Trek: Picard,” Tamlyn’s achievements extend beyond her acting career.